Edendale Marathon

In the history of the Comrades Marathon, entries have never been snapped up as quickly as they are going for next year’s Up Run.

50% of the entry cap has already been attained with more than 12,500 entries received since the process opened this morning. The entry process will close on 10 December 2018 or as soon as the cap of 25 000 has been reached.

Prospective entrants are encouraged to get their entries in early to avoid disappointment, considering that entries sold out in three weeks for the 2018 race.

Entry fees for the 2019 Comrades Marathon are as follows:

South African : R 600.00
Foreign Athletes – Africa/ SADC countries : R1500.00
Foreign Athletes – International : R3800.00

CMA Race Director, Rowyn James has advised that the alternative Nedbank bank account for direct deposits is:




BRANCH CODE: 198 765

ACC NO: 1305 846 532

Runners can enter as follows:

  • online via the Comrades Marathon website or app: www.comrades.com;
  • by posting their completed entry form with proof of payment to the CMA Office: P.O. Box 100621, Scottsville, 3209;
  • by handing in their completed entry form together with payment at Comrades House, 18 Connaught Road, Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg. 

James says, ‘We have exciting plans in place for next year’s Up Run. With entries opening today and being taken up as quickly as they are, we urge our athletes to enter early and claim their spot on the starting line of the world’s most epic ultra-marathon.’

James adds, “Qualifying for the 2019 Comrades Marathon is applicable as of 26 August 2018 till 2 May 2019. The qualifying criteria for next year’s Comrades Marathon will be to complete a standard 42.2km marathon in under 4 hours and 50 minutes, or a 56km ultra-marathon in under 6 hours and 45 minutes.”

The 94th Comrades Marathon will be an Up Run on Sunday, 9 June 2019. The race starts at the Durban City Hall at 05h30 and ends 12 hours later at the Scottsville Race Course, covering a distance of approximately 87km. This will be the 48th Up Run in Comrades history.

Exciting developments for the 2019 race are the introduction of two new medals, the Isavel Roche-Kelly Medal and the Robert Mtshali Medal; as well as and increased prize money for the Top 7 finishers.