Old Comrades Image

“Those who are happiest are those who do the most for others.” – Booker T. Washington

The CMA hosted a special #Comrades2018 Thank You Dinner for its staff and volunteers in Pietermaritzburg recently. CMA Chairperson, Cheryl Winn said, “The CMA Board values the immense contribution of our volunteers and staff who give of their time, enthusiasm and effort in ensuring the success of The Ultimate Human Race, year in and year out.”

The evening also saw select individuals and organisations being acknowledged for 10 years of service to the Comrades Marathon. The Comrades Marathon Green Name is conferred on an individual or organisation who has volunteered for 10 Comrades Marathons by working four or more hours assisting one of the CMA’s committees at either the Comrades Expo or on Race Day. More than 200 such individuals feature on the Comrades Marathon Green Name Roll of Honour.

Together with CMA Vice Chairperson, Sifiso Nzuza, Winn handed out the esteemed Green Names to the following individuals / organisations:

-         Fahmi Gallant of South African Institute for Drug Free Sport (SAIDS)

-         Tom Cottrell of Guidebooks

-         Thabo Maile – Media & Registration Volunteer

-         Victor Zondo – VIP Portfolio Volunteer

-         Aleka Harilal – Staff: Administration Coordinator

-         Chris Bent – Refreshment Station Convenor

-         Christopher Zaayman – Finish Venue Volunteer & Member of Finance Committee 

Double Green Names were presented to:

-         Patience Mthembu – Staff: Office Assistant

-         Noeleen De Groot – Durban Registration & Novice Hospitality Co-Convenor

-         Celi Makhoba – Technical Convenor, Protocol Convenor & CMA Board Member

-         Chris Lombaard – Finish Venue

Triple Green Name:

-         Nonhlanhla Zondi – Staff: Office Assistant

Quadruple Green Names:

-         Brian Swart – International Bus Tour Convenor and Heritage & Traditions Committee Member

-         Jeremy Boulter – Medical Convenor and Former Board Member

-         Dave Dixon – Former Chairperson, Board Member and Sub-Committee Member