14 JUNE 2020



It was a fabulous day for road running as 19,103 athletes took to the start line of the 94th Comrades Marathon. 

Nedbank Running Club’s Edward Mothibi won the Comrades Marathon Men’s Race in a time of 5:31:33, four minutes faster than Bongmusa Mthembu’s 2017 Up Run win.

History was made at #Comrades2019 when Gerda Steyn, also a Nedbank Running Club athlete, captured the imagination of the nation with her victory in a time of 5:58:53; claiming 17th position overall and shattering Elena Nurgalieva’s 13-year stranglehold on the Comrades Women’s Up Run best time of 6:09:24 by over 10 minutes; and a full 30 years after Frith Van Der Merwe produced a similar record and sub-6 hour performance to set a Comrades Down Run best time of 5:54:43 which stands to this day.

CMA Chairperson, Cheryl Winn congratulated the 2019 Comrades Marathon Champions, saying, “South Africa is a nation that is proud of its home-grown talent. We are incredibly happy that both male and female winners’ trophies remain in the country.”




© 2019 Comrades. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Hostitworld