14 JUNE 2020

90KM DOWN RUN

INTERNATIONAL AMBASSADORS

COMRADES INTERNATIONAL BRAND AMBASSADORS PROGRAMME

In a bid to enhance its marketing efforts internationally, the Comrades Marathon Association initiated the Comrades Marathon International Brand Ambassadors Programme in 2005. Through this programme, passionate Comrades Marathon runners are identified to represent The Ultimate Human Race in their own countries. We currently have 25 Comrades Brand Ambassadors, including two Ambassadors-at-Large.

WHAT DO THE COMRADES BRAND AMBASSADORS DO?

All Comrades Brand Ambassadors are volunteers who liaise with both existing Comrades runners in their regions and the CMA. With the Comrades family spread through a wide range of cultural and ethnic groups around the world, they also give the CMA an insight as to how their area perceives the Comrades Marathon.

Amongst other things, The Comrades Brand Ambassadors tell the “Comrades story” in their respective countries and regions. Specifically, the Comrades Ambassadors publicize the Comrades Marathon to the local running community, the media, the sports community, running shops, running apparel manufacturers, charities and community leaders in their countries.

Secondly, the Comrades Brand Ambassadors are available ‘in-country’ to potential and actual international runners. When the Comrades Marathon office receives requests for information from abroad, the local Comrades Brand Ambassador is advised and makes him/herself available to compatriots to respond to general questions, to share personal experiences; and to advise and assist in any way possible.

It adds a personal touch and helps facilitate greater international participation. Similarly, the Comrades Brand Ambassadors seek out opportunities at local ultras, marathons, and other races; and generally makes him/herself available to potential international participants.

Thirdly, the Comrades Brand Ambassador advises the Comrades Marathon Association on its international runners’ programme. This involves publicity for Comrades abroad, inspiring greater numbers of international runners, and forging linkages with national ultra-running organizations and perhaps individual ultras, as well as potential foreign sponsors.

THE EXISTING COMRADES BRAND AMBASSADORS ARE:

COUNTRY NAME EMAIL ADDRESS
Argentina Javier Frega javier@comrades.com

Australia/New Zealand - Ambassador at Large

Bruce Hargreaves bruce@comrades.com
Australia - Eastern Cory Newman cory@comrades.com
Australia - Western Jacques Meyer jacques@comrades.com
Austria Patrycja Gamsjager patrycja@comrades.com
Botswana Shirley Mosiakgabo shirley@comrades.com
Brazil Nato Amaral nato@comrades.com
Canada Cathy Hopkins cathy@comrades.com
Germany KLaus Neumann klaus@comrades.com
India Amit Sheth amit@comrades.com
Ireland Ian Bailey ian@comrades.com
Japan Sandy Kondo sandy@comrades.com
Kenya Sandor Frigyik sandor@comrades.com
Malaysia Frank Wei Siong Chong frank@comrades.com
Namibia Joel Talbot joel@comrades.com
Netherlands Hans Koeleman hans@comrades.com
Poland Artur Kujawinski artur@comrades.com
Portugal Tiago Dionisio tiago@comrades.com
Scotland Don Mellor don@comrades.com
United Kingdom David Ross david@comrades.com
USA Admas Belilgne admas@comrades.com
USA Pat Kongsilp patrick@comrades.com
USA - Ambassador at Large Mark Bloomfield mark@comrades.com
Zimbabwe Andrew Edmondson andrew@comrades.com

 

The CMA appreciates the time, effort and enthusiasm that these Comrades Brand Ambassadors put into promoting the Comrades Marathon globally. Through their passion and commitment, the number of international runners participating in the Comrades Marathon has greatly increased each year.

For more information, please email delaine@comrades.com

© 2019 Comrades. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Hostitworld